Breaking the Silence

/ Feb

Breaking the Silence

SJE Arts
Start Time
07:30 pm
£15 (£12 concessions)

Solarek Piano Trio with introductions to the composers’ lives by Anna Beer

Germaine Tailleferre (1892-1983): Trio pour piano, violon et violoncello
Tailleferre’s Trio, unlike many of her other compositions, is quite Ravelian with hints of Chausson and Fauré. This is an exceptional piece infused with a ravishing Gallic beauty.

Amy Beach (1867-1944): Piano Trio in A Minor, Op. 150
A luscious and unabashedly romantic work, mixing French Impressionism and Brahmsian thematicism. Beach has a remarkable ear for harmony and harmonic colour.


Lili Boulanger(1893-1918): D’un Matin De Printemps  pièces en trio
This is a very fast and lively composition written in the Impressionistic style.  The strong ending of the piece attests to Boulanger’s inner vitality, despite her physical frailness.

Rebecca Clarke(1886-1979): Piano Trio
Clarke’s Trio is conservative in its harmonic language but at the same time her musical language is daring, complex and imaginative in its texture. In this truly dramatic trio, a very emotional and angst-ridden first movement is followed by an atmospheric second movement – the string players being muted throughout – with a final movement drawing on the rhythms of dance.


The Solarek Piano Trio was formed in 1992 and has established itself as a versatile and dedicated ensemble with a warm and communicative approach. They have performed in many major British venues including the Purcell Room, St. John’s Smith Square, St. Martin in the Fields, St David’s Hall Cardiff and have made several tours of Europe.

Marina, Miriam and Diana have made it their mission to give a platform to still neglected 19th and 20th century women composers like Lili Boulanger, Cecile Chaminade, Amy Beach, Louise le Beau, Germaine Tailleferre, Rebecca Clarke and the almost completely undiscovered Johanna Senfter.

The Solarek Trio are collaborating for this event with author Anna Beer, a Fellow of Kellogg College, University of Oxford, whose 2016 celebration and exploration of the achievements of female composers through the centuries, ‘Sounds and Sweet Airs: the Forgotten Women of Classical Music’, was shortlisted for the RPS Creative Communication prize. Anna has worked with a number of musicians since the book’s publication aiming to bring these previously neglected composers’ works to new audiences.