James Lisney: The Schubert Series IV

/ Nov

James Lisney: The Schubert Series IV

Start Time
07:30 pm - 09:15 pm
£30, £25, £10, £5 for students and under 18s

Franz Schubert

Franz Schubert
Impromptu in C minor, D.899/1
Impromptu in E flat, D.899/2
Sonata in A minor, D 784

Sonata in E flat, D 568
Impromptu in G flat, D.899/3
Impromptu in A flat, D.899/4

James Lisney has been performing his Schubert Series, an exploration of Schubert’s eleven completed piano sonatas, through the year. With this concert, he brings both his Schubert Series and the 2017 SJE Arts International Piano Series to a close.

The programme, altered since the SJE 2017/8 Season Guide went to print, now includes the first of Schubert’s two sets of Impromptus. These pieces were written in the year before he died and although ostensibly with an eye for the emerging amateur market, are no ‘easy’ play, particularly the E flat, No.2 and the lyrical G flat, No.3.

Of the sonatas, the troubled A minor was written in 1823, after Schubert had experienced the first signs of his venereal disease and contemporaneously with the poem Mein Gebet, in which he expressed a longing for the comfort of death. By contrast, the Sonata in E flat, a much later revision of his youthful Sonata in D flat, is both sunny and enchanting.

SJE Arts International Piano Series 2017

Pre-concert talk 6:45-7:15pm

Parking: £6

Tickets available from: www.sje-oxford.org/tickets/buy-tickets

and The Oxford Playhouse, tel: 01865 305305 www.ticketsoxford.com