Sunday 12 February
Start time: 06:00 pm

"From London to Vienna"

"From London to Vienna"          concert starts 6.00pm


The London Firebird Orchestra



Mozart: Overture to Cosí fan Tutte, K. 588
Mendelssohn:  Violin Concerto in E minor, Op. 64
Mozart : “Come Scoglio” (from Cosí fan Tutte) & “Porgi Amor” (from Le Nozze di Figaro)
Haydn:  Symphony no. 103 in E flat, H. 1/103 (‘The Drum Roll’)

Conductor: George Jackson
Violin:          Benjamin Baker
Soprano:     Suzanne Fischer

The Oxford debut of The London Firebird Orchestra celebrates a musical journey to some of the great cities of Europe starting with Vienna and the birthplace of Mozart’s operas, to Leipzig the musical heart of Germany which hosted the premiere of Mendelssohn’s dazzling violin concerto and culminating with one of Haydn’s greatest London symphonies – the ‘Drum Roll’.

2015 Aspen Conducting Prize winner George Jackson conducts this captivating programme which also features violinist Benjamin Baker both of whom make a welcome return to the stage with the London Firebird Orchestra.

“George Jackson raised the stature of the music to a rarely-encountered level, absolutely enthralling from first bar to last.” Robert Matthew-Walker, Classical Source

“The performances I’ve so far heard with violinist Ben Baker…have had a supernaturally beautiful atmosphere, the fruit of serious readiness combined with cultured musicianship and flawless intonation.”  The Arts Desk


Concert sponsored by The Morris-Venables Charitable Foundation


Tickets: £25, £20, £15 (Students and under 18s, £5)

Available from:  and 

The Oxford Playhouse, tel 01865 305305 



Travel Information